Important Dates

Abstract submissions

Open: 03 December 2018
Deadline: 15 July 2019

Early bird registration

Closes: 28 August 2019

Online registration

Closes: 21 October 2019

Contact Details



+27 (0)11 325 0020

Postal Address:

Postnet Suite 197
Private Bag X11
2024, South Africa



Dear Friends and Colleagues,

On behalf of the FIDSSA Council and the Local Organising Committee, it is our great pleasure to invite you to the 8th FIDSSA Congress to be held at the Indaba Hotel and Conference Centre, Johannesburg, South Africa from 7 to 9 November 2019.

The Federation is an amalgamation of Southern African societies focused on infectious diseases, sexually transmitted infections, infection prevention and control, clinical microbiology, travel medicine and paediatric infectious diseases. Since its formation, FIDSSA has contributed substantially to an integrated approach of tackling the major problems of infectious diseases in southern Africa.

The biennial FIDSSA Congress attracts local and international experts to lead conversations on a wide spectrum of cutting-edge infectious diseases topics relevant to the region and the African continent. We strongly encourage presentation of original research work and the programme will allow ample time for both oral and flash presentations. We anticipate that the outstanding scientific programme will be balanced with rewarding networking opportunities and fun social activities.

We invite you to join us at the Indaba Hotel and Conference Centre overlooking the magnificent Magaliesberg Mountains. The venue offers a blend of excellent conference facilities close to major airports, along with a relaxed and warm country hospitality atmosphere.

We look forward to seeing you in Johannesburg in November 2019,

Yours Sincerely,



Dr Nelesh Govender                                 Professor Nicolette du Plessis

FIDSSA President                                           Congress Chairperson

Organising Committee

Dr Nelesh Govender  |  FIDSSA President

Dr Gary Reubenson |   FIDSSA Treasurer

Professor Nicolette du Plessis  |  Congress Chairperson

Scientific Committee

ICSSA – Infection Control Society of Southern Africa
Ms Lesley Devenish
Ms Karin Swart

IDSSA – Infectious Diseases Society of Southern Africa
Dr Tom Boyles
Professor Sipho Dlamini

SASCM – South African Society for Clinical Microbiology
Dr Vindana Chibabhai

SASPID – Southern African Society of Paediatric Infectious Diseases
Dr David Moore

SASTM – South African Society of Travel Medicine
Ms Lee Baker
Dr Rochelle Lee

STDSSA – Sexually Transmitted Diseases Society of Southern Africa
Dr Marcelle le Roux
Professor Remco Peters
Dr Ranmini Kularatne

SAASP – South African Antibiotic Stewardship Programme
Professor Adrian Brink
Professor Natalie Schellack